Skip to content

twitter me this

February 28, 2008

Ok, this is UNBELIEVABLE. Sit down before you read this. First of all, let me be the first to admit that I frequently forget to water my plants. For weeks.  And I’ve killed not a few African Violets this way. But these tragic losses have never inspired me to attempt to communicate better with the foliage in my house.

Until now. Apparently my plant woes could end with a few gadgets, two nails and a soldering iron (awesome). Yes, you guessed it, my plants can now Twitter me and tell me they need to be fed. I’m sure that this is the wackiest most ridiculous new media invention I have heard of… ever! Check out the story here and the Web site for the plans at the Botanicalls page (haha, get it?)

Anyway. The best part is that my plant doesn’t just tell me if it needs water. It also messages me to thank me once I do water it, which I always felt was lacking in the traditional plant watering routine.

“You ungrateful spider plant. WTF? I water you every Sunday and what do I get? No thank you, no appreciation, just the same stripey looking leaves you always had.”

Now I can feel appreciated by my leafy home companions. Better still, if I fail to water them enough, or alternatively water them in excess, they can scold me for my bad plant care. Which is perfect, because I’ve always wanted to get advice from my petunias.

All in all, I’m just really looking forward to what will happen next. I’m really hoping that my tomatoes will be able to Twitter me and let me know if they are going bad in the fridge, I really hate when that happens.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Marisa permalink
    March 6, 2008 3:16 pm

    I think this is a good plan as I am a well known plant killer myself.

  2. March 11, 2008 8:11 pm

    This is a very interesting technology. If it really works according to what I just read then it is a great thing for plant lovers.

Leave a Reply

