Skip to content

new year’s resolutions etc.

December 28, 2007

Well I had decided to cut back on my swearing this year for my new year’s resolution. But then I thought maybe that’s not so great, because I really just shouldn’t swear so much anyway, and there are far more productive, life affirming, soul fulfilling resolutions to make than that.

Nothing like sitting around on a Friday getting inspired from blog posts! I was reading this one and listening to Feist… and it occured to me that so often we do fall into a rut of feeling like we are powerless to enact change, make a lasting and great impact on the world around us, or achieve lofty goals that seem merely a distant dream. I’ve been thinking about this a lot recently because I’ve been spending a lot of time with someone who really thinks he is going to start his own business and go out and enact change of a global nature, and help a lot of people doing it. Sometimes I think this is nuts! And dangerous, because what if it’s not successful, and how can you possibly get there, and where do you start, and will people ever listen to you, and why, and couldn’t you just get a nice job in suburban America and be happy? There are so many more questions that have to answered and risks that have to be taken to lead that kind of life.

But he’s right! Why… why do we limit ourselves? This is not the time to play it safe. Opportunity is not easy to seize, but it’s there, resting just beyond reach, and I spend so much time thinking about car payments and rent and oil heat and what I’m going to make for dinner that I “don’t have time” to reach; I’m “too busy” with work etc. to dream big and then MAKE IT HAPPEN.

So this is a really sappy post, I realize this. But resolutions are easier to keep and harder to forget if you write them down. This 2008, I am not going to rest on what I have. Reaching for greatness can only be unsuccessful if you never try.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Viktoria permalink
    January 3, 2008 12:39 am

    It’s so totally true! Small changes all add up and even knowing what you want will help you reach for your greatness. You will MAKE IT HAPPEN, I know it.

  2. RezIt! permalink
    January 4, 2008 1:15 pm

    Inspirational!

Leave a Reply

