Skip to content

the first amendment and the fourth estate

October 17, 2007

Going back to my Newhouse roots, I just had to post this story today because if it happens, it will be such a MAJOR breakthrough for journalists.

Battelle mentioned the Shield Bill today. It would protect journalists, including professional bloggers, from having to reveal sources and break promises of confidentiality.

Thanks to Roy Gutterman, I now find these topics fascinating. I’m actually shocked there isn’t anything on the Newhouse site, considering how often I heard about this issue when I was there! (Shout out to all my Newhouse colleagues who are having flashbacks to Media Law class right now!)

Anyway, for more, check out the NY Times piece.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

