Skip to content

twitter the new e-mail?

August 25, 2007

Scoble just wrote that he thinks mini-blogs and things like twitter will replace e-mail as common forms of communication in business. I disagree. The inherent problem with that medium, and the reason that most companies are still using e-mail regardless of the plethora of other networking tools available now, is that e-mail is private, and is not open to general public scrutiny. The mere mention of using a wiki at my company to share information between teams sent my HR manager running for the hills. Of course e-mail can become re-directed, either intentionally or unintentionally, but at least when properly used, the often-times proprietary information being shared is kept private.

Perhaps a form of this kind of mini-blogging could begin to take place on the other side of the firewall, where companies can be relatively sure that their employees are not sharing their secrets in real-time with the known universe. But really, a service like flicker which would allow me to see what my co-workers are doing at every moment of the day, and in turn require that I spend precious billable hours posting my own activities, is not something that enhances my day to day productivity enough to warrant the amount of time it would take to do it.

But that’s just my opinion! Check out what Scoble says, and let me know what your take is…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

